Friday, 1 August 2014

Commonwealth Dictogloss

The Commonwealth Games         
The Commonwealth games often called the friendly games, has a unique place in sporting history. It is an international multi-sport event like the Olympics, except athletes from the Commonwealth countries. This includes countries like England, New Zealand and the Pacific Islands.

The first games were held in 1930 in Hamilton,Canada. Eleven Countries sent four hundred athletes to take part in six sports and fifty nine events. Since then the games have been held every four years. However in 1942 and 1946 the games were cancelled because of the second word war.

The event has had many changes, even it’s name. In 1930 to 1950 the games were known as the British Empire games. Later, from 1970 to 1974 they took the title of British Commonwealth games. Finally, at the 1978 games Edmonton, Canada this multi sport change it’s name to the commonwealth games.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.